Fort Hall Business Council.

TThe Fort Hall Business Council is the governing body of the Shoshone-Bannock Tribes. The Council was established under the Tribes' Constitution & Bylaws, which was approved by the Tribes and ratified by the federal government in 1937 under the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934.

FHBC in Chambers
FHBC Swearing In
FHBC in 1976
FHBC at a Community Event

Serving the Shoshone-Bannock Tribes.

Serving as a Fort Hall Business Council member is a full time, paid position. The duties of the Council include the oversight of governmental services and economic development on the reservation; negotiating with federal, state and local government officials on all activities affecting the Tribes, the reservation and the Tribes' off-reservation treaty areas; managing tribal lands and overseeing law enforcement and the judicial system on the reservation.

In recent years, the primary focus of the Council has been overseeing the growth of the Tribes' businesses; protecting the tribes' off-reservation treaty rights; asserting the tribes' jurisdictional authority; enacting tribal laws to ensure protection of reservation land, water and air and human health; strengthening public safety; promoting wellness; expanding its tribal farming operations. Each member is also assigned to meet regularly with one of the five reservation districts to provide information and to obtain feedback on the activities of the Council.

Council Members.

Nathan Small, Chairman.

is serving his eighth term on the Fort Hall Business Council. Small was instrumental in opening the Shoshone-Bannock Tribes’ first gaming operation and served as gaming manager from 1990 to 1998. He has been a member of the Shoshone-Bannock Tribal Bar Association since 1980, and has held positions as both a prosecutor and public defender in Tribal Court.

Small also worked for a time in the Tribal Water Resources Department. He is an avid fisherman, and looks forward to traveling to central Idaho each summer to spear salmon in the traditional way of our people.


Darrell Shay, Vice-Chairman.

is serving his fourth term on the Fort Hall Business Council: first in the mid 80’s; second in the mid 90’s and currently. Shay is a lifelong resident of the Fort Hall district. Shay has served in various upper level tribal management positions since 1981, as Assistant Land Use Director, Housing Director, Development Project Mgr., Tribal Construction Mgr., Economic Development Specialist/assistant Planner, and most recently as our former Language & Cultural Program Director. Shay has acquired a BA degree from ISU in Public Administration/Political Science and Farm Business Mgmt. Shay is a father, grandfather & now a great-grandfather.


Marcus Coby, Secretary.

is serving his second term on the Fort Hall Business Council. Coby is a lifelong resident of the Fort Hall District of the Fort Hall Reservation. Prior employment included working with the Tribes Fisheries department and the Idaho Supplementation Study, Fort Hall Casino (1995-2005) in the Security, surveillance and maintenance departments. From 2005-2014, Coby worked within the Tribes Law Enforcement department with Corrections (FLETC certified), Patrol and Criminal Investigator and also the Fish & Game department.


Tino Batt, Treasurer.

is serving his fifth term as Tribal Treasurer of the Fort Hall Business Council and a lifelong resident of Gibson district. In this position Batt is involved in monitoring the Tribal financial management and accounting practices of all Tribal entities operating within the Tribal government structure. Batt has served on the Board of Directors for the Native American Bancorporation Co., as well as volunteers with the local AARP Foundation Tax Aide program and the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program on the Fort Hall Reservation. Batt served as the former Festival Coordinator for the Annual Shoshone-Bannock Indian Festival. In addition, Mr. Batt continues to serve on various advisory committees under the Department of Health and Human Services with Administration for Children and Families Tribal Advisory Committee, and the IRS Tax Exempt/ Government Entities (TE/GE) Indian Tribal Government (ITG) Advisory. In the past, he has represented the Shoshone-Bannock Tribes at the Tribal Interior Budget Council with the Department of Interior and the alternate for the Northwest Region of the Secretary Tribal Advisory Committee. Batt has obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Human Resource/Corporate Training and Development from the Idaho State University, in Pocatello, Idaho.


Ladd Edmo, Sgt-at-Arms.

is serving his first term on the Fort Hall Business Council. Edmo is a lifelong resident of Fort Hall and currently resides in the Fort Hall District. He attended schools in Fort Hall, Blackfoot, and graduated from Intermountain Indian High School. Ladd continued his education at Haskell Jr. College in Lawrence Kansas, where he was on the Dean’s Honor Roll, and received an Associates of Applied Science Degree. Mr. Edmo specialized in carpentry and construction services. Prior to serving on the FHBC, he was the Fort Hall Housing Authority’s Construction Project Manager, and in 2014 he was elected as a Tribal Land Use Policy Commissioner. Edmo is a hunter and fisherman and has four children and three grandchildren.


Lee Juan Tyler, Member.

Lee Juan Tyler is serving his fifth term on Fort Hall Business Council. Lee Juan is a member of the Fort Hall district. He is active in traditional and ceremonial ways of our people on the reservation and is frequently called upon to provide prayers and songs at local ceremonies and community events. Tyler is a fluent Shoshone speaker and is in support of revitalizing our Shoshone and Bannock languages. Tyler serves as the Tribes’ representative on the following committees: The Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC), the Tribal Science Council (TSC) which is under the umbrella of Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to further tribal environmental objectives and to protect our ecosystems for future generations, as well, Tyler is an active member of the Upper Snake River Tribes Foundation (USRT) that consists of some of the Snake River Tribes. Tyler is the proud dad of one daughter and resides in the Fort Hall district.


Daniel Stone, Member.

is serving his first term on the Fort Hall Business Council. Dan is a lifelong resident of the Gibson district and currently serves on the Shoshone-Bannock Agri-Business Corporation cultural Board. Mr. Stone is a graduate of Idaho State University in 2004 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Philosophy, 2007 from the University of Idaho College of Law with a Juris Doctor, emphasis in Natural Resource Law, and a member of the Idaho State Bar Association from 2008 to present. Daniel has spent almost ten years working as a Policy Analyst with the Tribes’ Fish and Wildlife Department with a duty to ensure Article IV of the Fort Bridger Treaty remains strong for future generations of Tribal members. Dan is council representative of the Ross Fork District.


Upcoming District Meetings.

No event found!
Load More

Our Location.

We are located just off Interstate 15, Exit 80 and down Agency Road in the Tribal Business Center

Contact Business Council.

Fort Hall Business Council

Contact Us

F: (208)237-0797

P.O. Box 306
Fort Hall, ID 83203

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message (required)

Council Highlights.

Council Members
Members Represented